Selfcare

Selfcare is often seen as a loaded topic in today’s society. It is viewed as selfish if you choose to take time for yourself. However, it is the opposite of selfish, because when you have looked after yourself, whether it be mental, physical, spiritual, or emotional, it enables you to give to others from overflow and not from a place of depletion or overwhelm.

Whenever, I am feeling overwhelmed, going for a walk in nature helps me to feel refreshed and rejuvenated. I am then better able to deal with my children or any situation I am faced with. However, if I haven’t taken time for myself, I am more likely to be snappy, or respond in an impatient manner like shouting.

I am learning to listen to my body and do what I feel will nourish and support me. One day this week, I woke up feeling very tired and decided to go back to bed. I had a slow day doing yoga, made brunch, relaxed then did some outstanding tasks. At the end of the day, I felt happy with the choice I had made to have a slow day and doing things that nourished me, which is an act of selflove.

It is good to take time to rest or do things that fill you with joy, whether it be going for a walk, talking to a friend, meditation, dancing, exercise, reading a book, watching a movie or TV show, listening to music, a podcast or journaling. When we take time, to tap into what fills us with joy, it gives others permission to do the same and it also shows others how to treat us with compassion.

Setting boundaries with our time and energy and saying no to others is also a form of selfcare. When we say yes to something, to which we want to say no, this depletes our energy and we are not putting ourselves first. If we are used to saying yes, then this will take time to master, so be gentle with yourself.

So, this coming week, let’s go forth and practice selfcare, as a radical act of selflove. Let me know what act of selfcare/selflove you will be practicing this week?

Leave a comment